Skip to main content
HomeHCA Newsletter

MAY 2019

2019-2020 Board of Directors
May CE Seminar       Scholarship Awards
Calendar of Events       Spring Golf Tournament
Membership Update


Your Board of Directors elected at the April 11 Annual Meeting are Greg Schuelke, President; Greta Walters, Vice President; Kaitlyn Henning, Treasurer; Brandi Domec, Secretary; Diana Moinot, Sergeant at Arms; William Cho, One-Year Member at Large; Kenny Roberts, Vendor Member; and two Past Presidents, Matt Jett and Mike McCroskey. Thank you for your willingness to serve HCA’s members and help the Association grow. These officers will be installed at a future meeting. Our sincere thanks to Frank De Leon for his dedication and service to HCA as he rotates off the Board.


Houston Claims Association’s May CE Seminar will be held at the CenterPoint Service Center, 4300 Bissonnet, Bellaire, TX 77401, Wednesday, May 8, from 10:00 am to 2:00 pm. Four hours of CE will be presented by James Plantes of Polaris Forensics and Madhu Ahuja of Ahuja & Clark, PLLC. The programs,” Forensics Engineering Evaluations”, “Forensic Engineering Roof Distress Evaluations”, “Forensic Engineering Foundation Distress Evaluations,” and “Business Interruptions” have been approved by TDI/Sircon. A light lunch will be provided. Online cost is $42.50. Please RSVP BY CLICKING HERE by 5:00 pm, Friday, May 3.

To help streamline sign in, attendees are encouraged to prepay using the payment option offered with the registration page.

If you make a reservation and do not attend, HCA is still responsible for the expenses incurred. Therefore, if you make a reservation, your cancellation must be made by 5:00 pm Friday prior to the event. If not, an invoice will be sent to you so that the expenses may be recouped.

Future Programs:

June 12: 4-hour seminar at the offices of J S Held

If you have a specific topic you wish to have presented or speaker you would like to hear, please contact Greta Walters, Brandi Domec, or any Board Member.


May 8   Seminar @ CenterPoint Service Center
June 12   Seminar @ JS Held
August 22                Texas Hold’em Poker Tournament
September 11   Luncheon Meeting
October TBA   Fall Golf Tournament
October 9   Seminar
November 13   Seminar
December 11   CE Luncheon/Toy/Food Drive


Acting on the recommendation of the Scholarship Interview Panel, the HCA Board of Directors is pleased to announce the following recipients of the 2019-2020 scholastic year scholarships: Matthew De Leon, Makinsie Ellis, Madelynn Marlow, April Phillips, Meghan McCroskey, Darbi Webster, Erin Webster, Deanna Smith, and the Barbara Buckley Award was presented to Vivian Phillips. Thanks are extended to the interview panel, Greg Schuelke, Diana Moinot, Frank De Leon, and former recipient Kayla Matlock. Congratulations to all!!

Please remember your student’s scholarship payment information is due by July 1. Scholarship checks will be mailed to the university/college on August 1.


What a great day!! HCA is pleased to have included MD Anderson’s Children’s Art Project as a co-beneficiary for this year’s tournament. Sincere thanks are extended to our core sponsor, Frank Lubrano of FRSTeam, to Frank and Mark Maddox for helping plan the event, to all the beverage cart, food, hole, team, and door prize sponsors and all who participated: Adams & Reese, American Technologies (ATI Restoration), Assured Relocation, Bagdad Oriental Rugs, Blackmon Mooring, Brown Sims, Charity Long Drive, Clean Air Restoration, CRDN Houston, Doyen Sebesta & Poelma, Eagle Strategies (The Forrest Group), EBE/I-ENG-A, Eggleston Briscoe, Electronic Restoration Services (ERS), Gulfstream Legal, Hall Maines Lugrin, Holman Fenwick Willan, J.S. Held, Jenkins Restoration, LDG Facilities Service, Lloyd Warwick, Matson Driscoll & Damico, Matthew Daniels, Paul White & Co, ProNet Group, Regal General Contractors, Restoration 1 Spring, Rimkus Consulting Group, S-E-A Limited, ServiceMaster by Century, Servpro of Spring/Tomball, Southwest Dry Wall, Southwest Recovery Services, Southwest TX Distribution, Stephens Engineering, and Walter P. Moore.

Without all of these companies’ support, this would not be possible. Please consider them as you need special services.


Thank you, Marcus Tucker of Phelps Dunbar, LLP , for present the program for the April luncheon meeting.

Welcome new members/associate members: Frank Isebor and Hayden Stokescbb.


A sincere thank you is extended to all of the newsletter and website advertisers and to all door prize sponsors. Because these sponsors are very important to the Association, you are encouraged to consider them as you look for service providers.